Njideka Ulunma Okubadejo, MBCHB, MD, FMCP, FAAN

College of Medicine, University of Lagos, Nigeria

Njideka U. Okubadejo is a Professor of Neurology at the College of Medicine, University of Lagos (since 2012), and an Honorary Consultant Neurologist to the Lagos University Teaching Hospital (LUTH), Idi Araba, Lagos State, Nigeria (since 2003). Her academic and research career started in 2001 enabling her garner considerable experience in the field of neurology (communicable and non-communicable diseases, particularly those associated with a significant burden in sub Saharan Africa, with more than 100 peer-reviewed publications addressing various aspects of neurology in Africa. Prof. Okubadejo has participated in neurology advocacy and collaboration to increase the visibility of neurological conditions within Africa while collaborating extensively with international partners to influence a positive trajectory on the profile of Neurology in Africa, and improve the outcomes of persons with neurological disorders in Africa. She is the immediate past Chairperson of the Neurology Subspecialty in the Faculty of Internal Medicine, National Postgraduate Medical College of Nigeria, and recently served as the Neuroscience Thematic Area Coordinator of the National Institutes of Health/Fogarty International institutional mentored research grant for junior faculty (BRAINS: Building Research and Innovation in Nigeria’s Science). She is principal-investigator or co-investigator on several funded research grants addressing the epidemiology, lived experiences and social aspects, outcomes, clinical trials and genetic and environmental risk factors associated with neurological disorders. Most recently, she assumed the role of Director of the newly established University of Lagos Centre for Neurological Sciences Research and Training (CENSRT). Prof. Okubadejo has extensive experience in research ethics having served as Chair and member of institutional research ethics committees for more than a decade.


NOTE: If no session is listed above, this individual is a Chair or Co-chair of a session(s). Please see the individual session listings found in the Program for a full list of session participants.