Robyn Klein, MD, PhD

Washington University School of Medicine

Robyn S. Klein is the Robert E. and Louise F. Dunn Distinguished Professor of Medical Sciences, and an internationally renowned neuroimmunologist who oversees a basic and translational science research program focused on neuroinfectious diseases of the central nervous system. Dr. Klein provides follow-up care for patients after hospitalization for neuroinfectious diseases. Dr. Klein received her B.A. with honors in Biology from Barnard College, Columbia University followed by a Ph.D. in Neuroscience and an M.D. from Albert Einstein College of Medicine. She then completed her internship and residency in Internal Medicine at the Brigham & Women's Hospital, Harvard University and her clinical fellowship in Infectious Diseases at the Massachusetts General Hospital, followed by post-doctoral training in Immunology at Harvard University. Dr. Klein joined the Washington University School of Medicine (WUSM) in 2003, where she attained Professorships in the Departments of Medicine, Pathology & Immunology, and Neuroscience. She has served as Vice Provost and Associate Dean for Graduate Education, in the Directorship of the WUSM Medical Scientist Training Program, and as President of the WUSM Academic Women Network, Dr. Klein also founded and Directs the Center for Neuroimmunology and Neuroinfectious Diseases. At WUSM, Dr. Klein developed a neuroimmunology basic and translational science research program focused on the pathogenesis of neuroinflammatory diseases of the central nervous system (CNS). Work in the Klein laboratory has defined novel roles for cytokines and chemokines in the regulation of blood-brain barrier permeability to arboviruses, protective versus pathogenic leukocytes, and in neurologic sequelae of viral infections such as impaired learning and memory.

Honors include the Dana Foundation Award for Neuroimmunology, McDonnell Center Award for Cellular and Molecular Neurobiology, a Pfizer/Washington University Biomedical Award, and a Distinguished Faculty Mentor Award from Washington University School of Medicine.


NOTE: If no session is listed above, this individual is a Chair or Co-chair of a session(s). Please see the individual session listings found in the Program for a full list of session participants.